Nigeria Select Scrabble Team for 2017 WESPAC

Nigeria’s national Scrabble team for the World English Language Scrabble Players Association Championships (WESPAC)  has been selected after a rigorous 50 game qualifiers. The tournament will be held in Nairobi, Kenya on 6th-12th November 2017. WESPAC is the Scrabble World Championship organized by the World English Language Scrabble Players Association (WESPA) to determine the (unofficial) World Scrabble Champion among players of affiliate countries.

Team Nigeria WESPAC 2017

Nigeria’s Jighere Wellington, the defending World champion will be leading a team of 8 top Nigeria Scrabble players to the biennial event this year in Kenya. The players who were selected to represent Nigeria at the tournament are

  • Jighere Wellington (defending champion)
  • Dennis Ikekeregor
  • Moses Peter
  • Olatunde Oduwole
  • Eta Karo
  • Quickpen Ben
  • Olaiya Kabir
  • Nsikak Etim

The first edition which took place in Perth Australia in November 2015 had 130 players in attendance. This year about 300 players from 50 countries are expected to play 32 rounds after which the top 2 (two) players will play in a best-of-seven series finals to determine the new world champion.

Useful Event Coverage Links

Photo credit – Gerry Carter